Backhanded Compliments What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/why-thank-you/

I personally don’t think I take compliments very well, but I do have my reasons for that. I come from a household where me and my siblings were never praised for the things that we did do right, but we were told off or moaned at when we didn’t. For example, at 15 when my parents wanted me to quickly grasp being able to cook, I had to listen to an earful until I finally did learn. Now at the age of 21 I can proudly say that I have the ability to cook even better than my mother(don’t tell her that), but never have I received a compliment for it. I think I got used to my parents being the way that they are, so when I do receive compliments from outsiders I don’t quite know how to respond. I now just smile and respond with a thanks, but really my mind takes a little while to take it in if that makes sense.

The last backhanded compliment I received was from an aunt at a dinner one evening.

Aunt: ‘ Are you ill?’

Me: ‘no..why?’

Aunt: ‘oh, your not fat don’t get me wrong, but you look rather…puffy..’

Me:   image

One thought on “Backhanded Compliments What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

